#EventSpeaks: Zebrahead @ Brooklyn Bowl, London – 28/11/15

Like our Facebook page (www.facebook.com/muzikspeaks)

Follow us on Twitter (www.twitter.com/muzik_speaks)

So, last night (Saturday 28th November 2015) I got the opportunity to see Zebrahead perform at Brooklyn Bowl in London (at the O2). The band were supported by  Man With A Mission and Patent Pending.

Man With A Mission

This bunch of dudes are a Japanese band with elements of hard rock and dance-pop (brought by their enthusiastic DJ) fused together to create some sort of dance-rock blend! It’s not just that which makes them unique…it’s their friggin’ wolf heads! Their set was good and they definitely got the crowd going.

Highlight: The eyes on their wolf-heads lit up!

Man With A Mission

Patent Pending

These guys are a New York-based pop-punk band and my God did they make an entrance! They are possibly one of the most insanely great set of performers I’ve ever seen! The singer, Joe Ragosta, is hilarious and has a really unique personality and he explained how he has ADHD – but man, this guy uses it to its strengths, in the best possible way! Their music was good too!

Highlight: When the singer and guitarist entered the crowd and had a “crowd swimming” competition! Legends!

Patent Pending Jump

Patent Pending


Then there was Zebrahead; within seconds of taking to the stage, everyone was skanking-out like pros to the Californian rockers!

The band’s entrance was amazing – Gangnam Style blaring out of the speakers, with a flashing, dancing Psy toy on top of one of the amps – which then rolled straight into the punchy, ‘Rescue Me’.

What never ceases to amaze me with these guys, is how when they perform live, their songs are so much faster than on the albums, yet Ali Tabatabaee‘s rapping skills are impeccably timed, at such high speeds!

Working a crowd is not a problem for this group of lads as they each take turns to speak to their audience and there’s even some stage diving going on!

What I think these guys have down to an art, is not playing all their new stuff with just one or two older tracks; they introduce it amongst a string of fan-favourites, but in turn manage to make their new music instant crowd-pleasers with their high levels of energy, crowd interaction and pure damn-awesomeness!

‘Save Your Breath’, ‘Call Your Friends’, ‘Worse Than This’ and ‘Hello Tomorrow’ were my favourite performances of the night – they really got the crowd going and there were circle-pits galore!

I implore everyone to see this band at least once in their life, because only then will you truly know the meaning of fun!


  • The band’s Gangnam Style entrance with a flashing, dancing Psy toy!
  • Ali Tabatabaee standing on some of the crowd’s shoulders to perform!
  • Matty Lewis holding a note for an insane amount of time, whilst checking his watch!
  • Ben Osmundson‘s crowd-rousing speech about his song dedication to London!
  • Dan Palmer‘s moustache! Oh…and his sick guitar skills!
  • Ed Udhus looking so relaxed while beating the hell out of the drums

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


  • Rescue Me
  • Save Your Breath
  • Call Your Friends
  • Worse Than This
  • Drink Drink – a fun sea-shanty type song where a couple of their pirate friends come on and chug some beer/vodka!
  • Hello Tomorrow
  • Hell Yeah!
  • Devil On My Shoulder (with guest vocals from Man With A Mission)
  • Mental Health
  • I’m Just Here For The Free Beer
  • Mike Dexter Is A God, Mike Dexter Is A Role Model, Mike Dexter Is An A**Hole
  • Two Wrongs Don’t Make A Right, But Three Rights Make A Left
  • Who Brings A Knife To A Gunfight?
  • Sirens


  • Falling Apart
  • Can Can
  • Anthem

Lastly, I want to say a massive thanks to the band for putting me on the guest-list, so I could come and do this review!

Matt – Muzik Speaks

#WildCardWednesday: Zebrahead – ‘Save Your Breath’

You probably remember the interview we did with Ali Tabatabaee from rap-punk band Zebrahead, earlier this year; well they’re back with a new single and album, due out soon!

‘Save Your Breath’ is their latest single, with the lyric video having been posted on YouTube and the album (Walk The Plank) is due out on October 13th 2015.

This song is just perfectly angsty with a pinch of rage and makes for a great first release from the album. It’s my Wild-Card as I know this type of music may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but this band are sensational and were a pleasure to work with when interviewing.

We are hoping to try and review one of their gigs later in the year, but will keep you posted on that! Hopefully a video for this song will follow soon 🙂

What do you think of Zebrahead’s latest release? Are you looking forward to their new album ‘Walk The Plank’? Got any similar music you can share with us? Please leave a comment below or contact us via Facebook or Twitter.

‘Save Your Breath’ is available to download from iTunes right now – https://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/save-your-breath/id1035987049?i=1035987426

Matt – Muzik Speaks

#FeelGoodFriday: The 1975 – ‘Chocolate’

The 1975 Banner

The 1975 are incredible; there’s no two ways about it!

The band (consisting of Matthew Healy, Adam Hann, George Daniel and Ross MacDonald) first caught my attention when they released their single, ‘The City’ and then reaffirmed my love for them, when they followed it up with this beautiful song, ‘Chocolate’.

This song is crafted to perfection with its catchy pop-rock/indie sound; it is pop and rock, merged at its best.

The 1975 recently had fans worrying about their demise, with their clever release of a cryptic comic, suggesting they were no more…however, if you read between the lines, they were talking about a change of image and hinted at a potential new album!

The 1975 Split

They then returned, around 24 hours later, with the following comic, confirming that they were bringing about a change to their current style, and informed their adoring fans (much to their relief) that they were going to go on tour around the UK again!

The 1975 Return

I hope you love this song as much as I do and please share this on your media accounts 🙂

Matt – Muzik Speaks

Download ‘Chocolate’ from iTunes now – https://itunes.apple.com/gb/album/chocolate/id670471325?i=670471546